Beauty Buys / Birchbox

Birchbox | On Trend: Korean Beauty Featured Box Unboxing

Birchbox On Trend: Korean Beauty

Because I couldn’t snag the On Trend: Korean Beauty Box curated by the talented Charlotte Cho when I had the chance to choose my Birchbox, I was incredibly thrilled when I saw that the Birchbox Shop was selling the very same box for $15! Even better, they were offering a $5 discount for current subscribers. I jumped at the chance to buy it!

1. MANEFIT Beauty Planner sheet mask in Cucumber

I’m excited to try a new brand of sheet masks! My favorite way to use them is at night after using a face scrub and before my nightime routine. I really like to let the serum sink into my skin for as long as possible.

2. goodal Waterest First Essence

This is a product that is completely new to me. From what I can tell, an essence is somewhat like a serum and is totally essential to any Korean skincare routine. Does anybody know otherwise?

3. RE:P Bio Fresh Mask With Real Calming Herb

Another mask! I am very excited to see not only one mask, but two in this box! Masks are definitely my favorite part of skincare and I love interchanging thick wet masks like this with sheet masks depending on my skin’s temperament.

4. TONYMOLY Delight Tony Tint in Red

A ruby red lip tint with a heart shaped cap, I found this TONYMOLY sample to be totally endearing. The scent reminds me of my childhood scented markers and the consistency is very liquidy, but not as much as Benefit’s Benetint, which I expected this to be comparable to. I have already tried this and, although I really, really loved the bright color, I found it difficult to achieve an even application. The pigment had the tendency to create an outline on the outside of my lips and fade towards the center. After watching Charlotte Cho’s unboxing video though, I figure I was using way too much of the product. Next time, I’ll try just using a couple of dabs in the center of my lips.

5. IPKN Flash Cream Radiant Primer

Although I’m not exactly thrilled about a primer, I am excited to compare this one to the other primers I have been alternating between lately.

6. BONUS: goodal Yerba Mate Cleansing Foam and Yerba Mate Bubble Peeling

The cleansing foam is a pearly, thick formula with a subtle floral scent. The foil packet lasted me three product-heavy washes and I’ve actually really enjoyed this cleanser. It’s soft and my face feels nicely refreshed, not dry. The instructions for the Bubble Peeling were a total mystery to me, so I ended up using it like a cleanser, but I definitely didn’t enjoy it as much as the cleansing foam.

Korean beauty’s emphasis on achieving a healthy, dewy glow through skincare and minimalist makeup is definitely a trend that I can rally towards and, with its growing popularity, I’m not surprised Birchbox capitalized on the opportunity to curate this sort of box. It’s fascinating to see how beauty retailers are making an effort to stock and promote Korean and Japanese brands, undoubtedly due to demand. I, for one, am glad that these products are becoming more accessible.

What do you think about the current Korean beauty craze?

2 thoughts on “Birchbox | On Trend: Korean Beauty Featured Box Unboxing

Leave a Reply

