Birchbox

Birchbox | January 2016 Unboxing

Birchbox January 2016 Unboxing

January’s box came with a fill-in-the-blank slogan embossed in silver on the lid, and a sticker page with seven possibilities. I chose the word “ambition,” so that the slogan on my box reads “2016: The Year of Ambiton.” Here’s hoping that ambition catalyzes 2016 into a year of transformation and direction for me. I really thought this was a clever idea for this month’s box and I actually found myself contemplating which word best suited my hopes for the coming year. Care to tell me which word you would have chosen? I would love to hear what you all have to say.

Now, on to what was actually in (not on) my box:

Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle 

This is the second sample bottle of this product that I’ve received through Birchbox and I definitely don’t mind it. Even though I don’t often style my hair and I’m not a huge fan of hair products, this particular one has somehow managed to impress me. It has a genuine and noticeable effect on my hair. Don’t let the simple packaging fool you, this magic formula has multiple uses and the most delicious smell. I’ve been using my last sample sparingly to make it last, but now it seems I won’t have to.

Real Chemistry Luminous 3-Minute Peel (5mL/.17 fl oz)
There’s something about the word “peel” that evokes images of tender, red, and burned skin, even though many YouTubers and bloggers assure me that that’s not always the case. I suppose it’s about time I found out exactly what they are all about with this little bottle. Even though the reviews for this product seem absolutely mixed on Birchbox.com, I do have some acne scars that seem to need a little push, so I will still be giving it a try. Wish me luck!

eyeko FAT Liquid Eyeliner

Eyeko Fat Liquid Liner

This is a full sized, chubby, felt-tip eye liner that I have been terrified to try out! It feels too much like a marker to inspire any confidence in me. I finally braved it today and only used the very tip to create the thinnest outline of my lash line. The verdict is still out on how it wears.

Embryolisse Lait-Crème Concentré (24-Hour Miracle Cream)

Since I always log on to Birchbox.com for some guidance when I receive products that I’m unfamiliar with, I noticed right away that a certain ingredient in this product had the review section in a tizzy. Apparently mineral oil is an ingredient derived from petroleum that has inspired some controversy in the cosmetics industry. Regardless, I decided that I’m gonna give this sample a try. After poking through the aluminum seal, the first thing I noticed is that the white cream is a lot less thick than I expected, and just a tad bit more oily than my usual moisturizer. This product apparently also has many possible uses, among them removing makeup and as a repairing mask.

Whish Three Whishes Body Butter in Almond (22mL/.75 fl oz)

3 thoughts on “Birchbox | January 2016 Unboxing

    • Yeah! I’ve really been impressed lately. When I first subscribed it was because they had a pretty good promo. I didn’t think I would really keep the subscription, but with the points you get back when you review, it really seems worth it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah..i tried them out for 3 months..i liked them but wanted to try another company..i loves how easy it was/is to use the points with birchbox! I resigned up last night lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

