Empties

Empties #1

SONY DSC

Since this is the first entry in a what I hope will become a series on my blog, I have collected quite a few empties. Because I subscribe to several beauty boxes, a lot of what I have here are deluxe samples.


Empties Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Hands of Hope Pores No More Estee Lauder Soft Clean Renewed Hope in a Jar

1. Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Facial Pads

I’ve recently mentioned these exfoliating facial pads on my blog because I received them in my Target Beauty Box not too long ago. The small sample contained 5 pads, which I felt wasn’t enough to see whether they’re effective. I did like the scent however, and the convenience of having the pad and the toner all-in-one. What I didn’t like was the way it left my skin feeling sticky. I won’t be purchasing these for that reason.

2. dr. brandt Pores No More Pore Refiner Primer

This is a deluxe sample that I received in an Ipsy about a year ago. When I first tried it, I was astonished by the slippery, mousse-like consistency. It was the first primer that I had ever encountered. After trying out Benefit’s POREfessional and Smashbox’s Photo Finish Primer though, I’m less impressed with this one and I don’t find that the slight tint has any purpose at all. It’s definitely not worth the $45 price tag, but then again, I don’t really have oily skin so maybe someone who does would really benefit from the mattifying properties.

3. Philosophy Hands of Hope Hand and Cuticle Cream

I added this hand cream to an Ulta purchase in order to meet a minimum for a free gift from Philosophy. It really is a nice hand cream with a subtle scent, but I definitely wouldn’t repurchase at $10 an ounce.

4. Estée Lauder Soft Clean Silky Hydrating Lotion

Another pricey item, I found this toner to be thoroughly enjoyable. It really was soft and gentle on my skin. Unfortunately, I can’t really afford to repurchase this just yet, but I definitely would if I could.

5. Philosophy Renewed Hope in a Jar Refreshing and Refining Moisturizer

I really enjoyed this moisturizer, though not as much as Philosophy’s Miracle Worker. I would really prefer a moisturizer that has at least some SPF and that doesn’t come in a jar, however. I also wasn’t a huge fan of the strong scent, though I got used to it after a while.

Eco-Beauty good night. night cream Pixi Glow Tonic Avene Moisture Mask Ulta Endless Passion Shimmer Sugar Scrub in Coconut and Guava Lush Mask of Magnaminty

6. Eco-Beauty Good Night. Night Cream

This night cream really surprised me. I started using it as soon as it arrived in my Ipsy last summer, but because I suddenly started breaking out around my mouth, I felt I needed to simplify my skincare routine and I cut this out. A few months later, I picked it up again and was truly impressed! My skin felt softer and more hydrated almost instantly. I’m not a huge fan of the scent, but I do love this night cream’s effects.

7. Pixi Glow Tonic Exfoliating Toner

I had heard rave reviews about this product, so I was especially happy to see a sample of it in my Allure Beauty Box last September. Unfortunately, I don’t think this sample was big enough to really see if the product makes a difference, that’s why I went ahead and purchased a full sized bottle at Target. To be honest, despite what everyone has said about this being an HG product, I really don’t see it doing much for me. When it comes to toners, I may still shop around. Any recommendations?

8. Eau Thermale Avène Soothing Moisture Mask

This was a sample that I received in an Ipsy or a Birchbox a few months ago and it really only supplied me with two uses, which weren’t effective enough to convince me to buy this product.

9. Ulta Endless Passion Shimmer Sugar Scrub in Coconut and Guava

I stocked up on Ulta brand scrubs when they were having a huge sale in September. Each Friday of that month, their scrubs were priced down to about $5 each. Quite a discount because they usually retail for $14.50. At first I was put off by the shimmer, but it all just seems to wash down the drain. Maybe it’s meant to just look pretty in the container? Regardless, I absolutely adored the scent and the scrubbing action of this product. I also really loved the way it lathered! I would definitely repurchase this if there were another promotion.

10. Lush Mask of Magnaminty Face and Body Mask

This is definitely a skincare favorite for me! I’ve already repurchased. An upcoming post will go into more detail on this mask.

Ulta Smooth Exfoliating Body Scrub in Lavender + Berries Crabtree & Evelyn ultra-moisturising hand therapy in verbena and lavender jouer daily clarifying treatment oil Kaplan MD rejuvenating concentrate Philosophy miracle worker

11. Crabtree & Evelyn Ultra-Moisturising Hand Therapy in Verbena and Lavender de Provence

This hand cream lived quite a while in my purse. I loved the lemony scent and I thought it absorbed into my skin pretty quickly. I won’t repurchase though, because my subscriptions keep me pretty stocked up on hand creams.

12. Jouer Daily Clarifying Treatment Oil

Although I enjoyed incorporating an oil into my nighttime routine, I didn’t find that this product lived up to its claims. I was using it during a period of time when I was experiencing some breakouts, and it didn’t seem to do anything for them.

13. Kaplan MD Cellular Rejuvenating Concentrate

I can’t explain why, but I do think this product is a gem. I can’t afford a luxury like this just yet, but maybe in ten years…

14. Ulta Smooth Exfoliating Body Scrub in Lavender + Berries

Another scrub that I bought last September, this one did not have the same scrubbing action that the previous one did, although I did also love the lather. I found the Lavender and Berries scent to be thoroughly enjoyable, as well.

15. Philosophy Miracle Worker Miraculous Anti-aging moisturizer

The gel-like formula of this moisturizer was really refreshing when compared to the average cream consistency of moisturizers. I also really loved the dewy finish it left me with. If I had the budget for it, I would undoubtedly repurchase.


There you have it! My empties from the last few months! I’m thinking future posts in this series will be a little bit smaller, therefore more frequent. I honestly really enjoy reading these sorts of posts, so I hope you will enjoy mine as well!

4 thoughts on “Empties #1

Leave a Reply

