Birchbox

Birchbox | March 2016 Unboxing

Birchbox March 2013 theBalm cosmetics Stainiac - Beauty Queen Cargo Eyeshadow Sand and Ferry Number 4 Lumere dhiver Fluoro5 Elixer Restore and Repairl Oil Dr. Lipp Miracle Balm Wilma Schumann Skin Care Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads

This month’s Birchbox failed to impress me, yet again. ūüė¶ It wasn’t totally horrible, but I didn’t really find anything incredible either. I wonder if I’m finally getting burnt out on samples.

Birchbox March 2013 theBalm cosmetics Stainiac - Beauty Queen Cargo Eyeshadow Sand and Ferry

theBalm Stainiac in Beauty Queen

Unlike Benefit’s Benetint, this is more like a jelly. I do like it for my lips because the gel consistency settles better than something more liquidy, but I don’t think this will work for my cheeks. After just swatching it on the back of my hand, I can tell that it will be difficult to achieve a pigmented and even application. I’m finding that I may not be such a huge fan of tints in general, though. Usually I reserve them for light makeup days, and recently¬†I’ve been having too much fun¬†applying a full face. Go big, or go home, right?! lol

Cargo Land Down Under Eye Shadow Duo in Ferry and Sand

I was excited to see that this sampling of Cargo’s Land Down Under Eye Shadow Palette was packaged in the quintessential Cargo tins. It matches the single eyeshadows that I’ve bought from Cargo before. The colors themselves are incredibly wearable, but not really anything to write home about. I am glad that it does contain both a matte and a shimmer shade, making it a handy little duo.

Birchbox March 2013 Number 4 Lumere dhiver Fluoro5 Elixer Restore and Repair Oil Dr. Lipp Miracle Balm Wilma Schumann Skin Care Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads

Dr. Lipp Miracle Balm

I love that¬†this comes in a lip friendly applicator because¬†my lips are eternally chapped, though the packaging does say this balm has multiple purposes, even taming eyebrows. I tried that today and I do believe I’m getting a strong hold. On my lips, the thick and scent-free formula of this balm does create a hydrating barrier with a glossy finish. I’ve been using it at night before I go to bed and so far so good. My lips haven’t been peeling at all and my lipstick doesn’t have any dry patches to cling to. Next, I think I’ll see how well this works for the dry areas around my nose.

Wilma Schumann Skin Care Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads

When I opened the package I didn’t know that these gel-like pads saturated in a solution were on a tray, so I spilled most of the solution on my bed along with one of the eye pads. As soon as I placed them correctly underneath my eyes, I knew these were going to impress me, the sudden cooling sensation felt so amazing. After gently peeling them off my skin, I didn’t notice¬†a any¬†difference, but I will say that the experience was relaxing and felt good to¬†the sensitive skin around my eyes.

Number 4 Lumiere d’hiver Fluoro5 Elixer Restore & Repair Oil

Whatever frill they lack in packaging, Number 4 makes up for in complicated names. I’ve only just received a hair oil from Birchbox last month, so I wasn’t exactly happy to see one in this month’s box too, but at least it wasn’t a shampoo that I wouldn’t be able to use on my color-treated hair. I haven’t tried this out yet, but the previous Number 4 hair product I got did impress me, so maybe this will be better than I think.


My favorite item from this month’s Birchbox was unexpectedly the Collagen Eye Pads. The skin around my eyes has really been in need of some TLC this season, so I’m considering buying the full-size package. Other than that, I think these sample sizes will be all I need of the products¬†featured in my box. By the way, don’t forget to make your sample choice today on the Birchbox website! I just chose the curated box. After two months of mediocre boxes, I’m not taking any chances for next month! ūüôā

4 thoughts on “Birchbox | March 2016 Unboxing

    • Glad I wasn’t alone! The other eye pads I have used before were stuck onto a plastic sheet and I guess that’s what I was expecting lol Yeah, I can’t see myself reaching for the Stainiac, although I’m crazy about theBalm!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

