Empties

Empties #2

Empties #2

Incredible to me, I’ve got 20 empties to talk about this time around! Well, some of them are products that I’m just clearing from my stash because I don’t use them anymore or they just didn’t work for me. Feel free to skim down to the items that you’re most curious about, since this will definitely be a longer post than usual.


DSC06732

1. Philosophy Miracle Worker Miraculous Anti-Aging Retinoid Eye Repair

Sometime late last year I purchased Philosophy’s The Iconic Favorites set, of which the first two items I’m gonna mention were a part of. I was curious about the brand, and I thought the set was a great value, though in reality I can’t really afford to buy the full-sized versions of most of the products I sampled. Half an ounce of this eye repair retails for $68. I wasn’t a huge fan of this product anyway, but maybe that’s because I didn’t really see any results. I imagine more mature women would. The consistency of this eye treatment is very slippery and similar to the consistency of some face primers. For that reason, I didn’t really enjoy the way that it felt on my eyes. I found that I prefer something a little more creamy and hydrating.

2. Philosophy Time In A Bottle Daily Age-Defying Serum

I don’t think I used this pink serum long enough to really see a difference in my skin. I won’t be repurchasing. A little more than an ounce of this retails for $75.

3. Lush Cosmetic Warrior Fresh Face Mask

As I mentioned in a previous blog post, this was the first Fresh Face Mask I’ve tried from Lush. Although the scent of it wasn’t my favorite, I do think it helped out with my breakouts. After I finished this off though, and went back to using the Mask of Magnaminty, I really found that I 100% prefer the latter! There’s just something so much more refreshing and hydrating about it. Next time I purchase a Fresh Face Mask, I think I’ll be trying something new.

4. Clinique Turnaround Overnight Revitalizing Moisturizer

This is a sample that I received in a gift with purchase at the Clinique counter in Dillard’s. I seriously loved this moisturizer. It felt so nice and hydrating when I applied it. It felt like it instantly soothed my very dry skin. I’m still trying out different night creams, but if I find that I don’t like anything else as much, I’m definitely investing in this one. The only con (besides the price) is that it comes in a jar.

5. Embryollise Lait-Crème Concentré

I received this sample in my January Birchbox and I used it up as a daily moisturizer. Although it worked fine in that capacity, I did find that it was a little too oily for my liking. I will not be purchasing this.

6. SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic

Another sample from a subscription box (this time the Allure Beauty Box), this little bottle lasted me at least two months as a daytime serum. At first I didn’t like the way this smelled –  it felt like I was slathering ham juice all over my face in the morning – but after I got used to the unconventional scent, I really enjoyed it. I really think it brightened up my complexion, and I would love to have this as part of my skincare routine, especially as I get older. The ingredients in this seem to be quite potent. Unfortunately, 1 oz of this retails for $163 and that is seriously no joke!

7. Caudalie Divine Oil

This sample my sister gave to me, and since I was looking for a face oil to mix into my foundation for a more flawless finish, that’s primarily what I used it for. Word of warning: the scent of this is definitely STRONG. It’s a very perfume-like, floral scent that I found overwhelming every time I used this. I can’t say anything for the benefits of this face oil on its own, but mixed into my foundations and BB creams, I thought this oil was divine! It guarantees a dewy and fresh look, while providing some added hydration.

8. Acure Eye Cream

While I was using this eye cream, I didn’t think that it was anything special. It basically has the same consistency as a body lotion, and I didn’t see that it did anything for my dark circles. After I stopped using it though, and started using the Philosophy Miracle Worker Miraculous Anti-Aging Retinoid Eye Repair I mentioned above, I seriously missed it so much. I think more than anything my eye area is in need of some serious hydration, which is exactly what this product provided. Every eye product I use in the future, will now be compared to this. Since I have so many samples to get through, I won’t be repurchasing this soon, but I definitely see myself buying it eventually!

9. Acure Day Cream

I love the citrus scent and the thick consistency of this orange day cream! I already have a backup thanks to the Target Beauty Box. The only thing that will probably prevent me from buying this for myself is that it doesn’t have any SPF and, in a daily moisturizer, that’s what I prefer.

10. Aveeno Positively Radiant Daily Moisturizer SPF 15

I have been using this daily moisturizer since I was fifteen, and I still love it! It’s perfectly hydrating and brightening. It also has a nice subtle scent. Recently though, I’ve gotten curious about some other products on the market and I think I’ll be giving some other moisturizers a try before I repurchase.

DSC06742

11. Starlooks Luxe Longwear Eye Liner Pen

I received this liquid liner in an Ipsy bag last August and I really thought it was great. The felt tip is the perfect shape and the color is very, very black. Unfortunately, I didn’t properly close the cap one day and it really dried out. Since I have a lot of felt tip liners on my hands right now. I won’t be purchasing this myself.

12. Coolway Boost Repair Treatment

I also received this in an Ipsy bag months ago. First off, I didn’t really understand the purpose of the product. I think it was a treatment meant to protect your hair from heat. I personally didn’t find that it did anything for me, though I suppose something preventative like that would be difficult to notice or measure. I used this about three times before I gave up on it. I’m sure there’s still a couple of applications left in the bottle but I don’t feel like bothering.

13. Coolway Strong Hold Spray

This is a hairspray that I also received in my Ipsy last November. I used it up but I wasn’t impressed and won’t purchase. I’m just not liking this brand.

14. L’Oreal Shadow Quad

I have no idea how long I’ve had this quad in my collection, but I know I bought it for Halloween when I was in high school. I couldn’t even find a similar product online, so who knows what it’s called. I don’t know why I’ve held on to it so long, the shadows are scratchy and powdery. That’s probably the reason these are no longer being sold! Good riddance!

15. Blistex Lip Protectant SPF 15 in Raspberry Lemonade Blast

I am seriously addicted to lip balm and I love Blistex! This variety has a great scent and I love that it has SPF. I would repurchase but I already have about a billion backups. 😛

16. Revlon Colorstay Moisture Stain in Parisian Passion

I found myself profoundly confused by this product. A glossy stain? I’m not convinced. I found that the application was difficult because the pigment wouldn’t even out on my lips (even though I thought the iron-like applicator was nice) and the gloss of it would just emphasize the unevenness. Because it’s such a dark berry color, I couldn’t find a way to make this product not look messy. I tried blotting out the gloss to see if this could work strictly as a stain, and I will say that that looked a lot better, but in the end I just didn’t think it was worth it. This will be finding its home in the bin.

17. Jersey Shore Sun Mongongo Lip Conditioner

I absolutely adored this lip balm!!!  I didn’t want to let it go! This is another Ipsy find. The smell was just sooo delicious and I can appreciate that the ingredients are organic and identifiable. Unfortunately, I think I would only be able to purchase this off line, which is a detractor for me.

18. Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes 4-in-1 Mascara

I really enjoyed this mascara, though it didn’t do anything dramatic for my lashes. I thought it did a good job of separating and defining them. I also didn’t experience any flaking, which I really, really appreciate. I would purchase this.

19. eos Medicated Lip Balm in Tangerine

My first impression of this lip balm was that it was so great! It was my first eos product and I just love the little egg shape!! The Tangerine smell was also delightful. Unfortunately, I did notice that this was strangely drying on my lips. I don’t know how or why, but I didn’t find it as hydrating as some of the other lip balms I love and my lips seemed to be more prone to peeling. I don’t think I’ll be purchasing an eos lip balm again.

20. L’Occitane en Provence Verbena Cooling Hand Cream Gel

As much as I love L’Occitane and anything verbena, this hand cream was just okay.The formula is lightweight and somewhat cooling, but I think my hands prefer more hydration. Maybe this would be good for the summer months? Either way, I won’t be repurchasing.


Thanks so much for joining me for another empties post! I hope you found it somewhat entertaining. If you’ve tried any of these products, leave me a comment with your own thoughts!!

2 thoughts on “Empties #2

  1. I’m not crazy over Coolway, either, and they only seem to be found in Ipsy. I’ve tried three shades of the Revlon Moisture Stains (one in Parisian Passion) and the gloss usually dries down after an awkward amount of time, more like an hour or so. I’m okay with the gloss, and okay with the stain, but wish it either dried down quickly or lasted longer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I really hope I don’t receive any more of Coolway’s products! I really wanted to like the Moisture Stain and I could see it working out with lighter colors, but I just don’t think the formula did justice to such a pretty berry color. :/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

