Birchbox

Birchbox | April 2016 Unboxing

Birchbox April 2016 UnboxingAs I’ve already mentioned on my blog, urged by a couple of consecutively disappointing boxes, I opted for the curated box this time around. This is my first time doing so, and although the element of surprise was no longer there, I still felt the same surge of excitement when my flower adorned Birchbox arrived in the mail. As I’m sure you’ve already heard, Rifle Paper Co. collaborated with Birchbox on this one. Although I thought the design of the pale yellow box was so much more beautiful, I couldn’t pass up the contents of the the curated box. The theme was Effortlessly Elegant.Birchbox April 2016 and Rifle Paper Co.

A 20% discount code for Rifle Paper Co. was included.

Birchbox April 2016 Laura Gellar Baked Blush-n-Brighten in Pink Grapefruit Dr. Jart+ Liftra Contour Cream Parlor Volumizing Lifting Spray

PARLOR by Jeff Chastain

I seriously don’t need another hair product, but I figured it was normal that I wouldn’t like/need at least one item in the box. This is a volumizing spray, which I particularly don’t need since I usually struggle with very puffy hair. Maybe one of my sisters would like it, though.

Dr. Jart+ Liftra Contour Cream

This product seriously has me baffled. I have no idea when or how to use this, and the packaging offers very little guidance. Could it replace my daily moisturizer? Or, should I layer it on after my moisturizer, but before my primer? I’m seriously unsure and so I’ve hesitated when it comes to trying it out. It sort of reminds me of the Hey Honey Open Your Eyes Contour Lifting Serum I received in my January Ipsy, which I still haven’t tried because I’m too confused about how exactly to use it.

Birchbox April 2016 Laura Gellar Baked Blush-n-Brighten in Pink Grapefruit

Laura Gellar Baked Blush-n-Brighten in Pink Grapefruit

It was really this adorable deluxe sized blush that convinced me to choose the featured box. It looked so beautiful in the photographs. After trying it on, the name Pink Grapefruit suddenly felt very suitable. On my cheeks, the color has a red-orange tint. The formula is incredibly pigmented and really offers a beautiful glow.

Birchbox April 2016 Marcelle Micellar Water Tocca Hand Cream in Guilietta

Marcelle 3-in-1 Micellar Solution

I was also really curious about this Micellar Solution. As you can tell by the packaging, this is a Birchbox exclusive. I’ve often found Marcelle items in my monthly boxes and it’s a brand that I don’t feel any which way about. This Micellar solution, however, is seriously the bomb!! I used it for the first time last night to remove my makeup and it did an excellent job without irritating my skin or my eyes!! The directions say you don’t have to rinse after using since it really is meant to cleanse, but I don’t feel entirely comfortable with that. The solution left some residual stickiness that I don’t think I would want to layer my nighttime skincare over, but it would undoubtedly be a better alternative to sleeping with my makeup on on those unexpected and rare nights I don’t have the energy to do any better!

TOCCA Crema de Mano in Giulietta

This hand cream arrived sealed and I won’t be opening it anytime soon since I already have such a stockpile of hand creams. I do love TOCCA, however, particularly their Florence fragrance. The Pink Tulip and Green Apple scent of Giuletta sounds promising!


I knew when choosing the curated box that at least three out of the five items would be useful to me. When I compared those odds to the my previous boxes, it really seemed to be along the same lines so I feel that, for this month, I made a good decision. I can’t wait to see what next month’s  featured box will be. Maybe it’ll be tempting enough that I’ll choose it again!

6 thoughts on “Birchbox | April 2016 Unboxing

  1. I took the same box as you this month, kind of feel meh about all of it. I haven’t really liked the things I’ve gotten in my Birchbox, I considering dumping this sub but haven’t made up my mind yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you’re consistently not liking your monthly boxes or using the points in the Birchbox shop, then maybe it would be a good idea to drop it. There are so many other subs that you could be trying that you might like more (or better yet, keeping that hard earned money in your pocket, lol)! Personally, even if I’m not happy with everything in my box, I love accumulating the Birchbox points so that I can buy something really expensive at a discount!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

