Beauty Buys

Monthly Beauty Buys | April 2016

Despite my wishes from March, I absolutely went overboard with beauty purchases this month, spending over $200. Ridiculous, I know!! But the deals just wouldn’t stop and I’m weak!

April Beauty Buys

On the last day of the 21 Days of Beauty, Ulta really stunned me! Urban Decay’s collaboration blush palette with Gwen Stefani was 50% off! I know I said no more blushes last month, but how could I resist! Of course I couldn’t beat the internet crowds –  Ulta’s online stock was totally sold out by 8 AM – but I still crossed my fingers and called my local Ulta to see if maybe they still had a few palettes left. I didn’t have my hopes up, but somehow there were still some left and I was able to have one held for me! I rushed right over and claimed my prize!!April Beauty Buys Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Blush PaletteApril Beauty Buys Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Blush Palette

Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Blush Palette

I haven’t really dug into this as much as I want to, so I don’t have a complete opinion formed about it. As a bronzer Lo-Fi has really impressed me and I think Hush is a really great shimmery blush. I’m still not sure how to work with Angel (Is it a blush? Is it a highlight?), and I’ve yet to even try OC.

I also used my Target coupon for $3 off a $15 beauty purchase from March’s Target Beauty Box and combined it with the manufacturer’s coupon for $4 off a CoverGirl TruNaked Eye Shadow Palette (from the bonus Allure Beauty Box) to buy the following three things:Aprli Beauty Buys CoverGirl True Naked Palette in Goldens NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Milan Revlon Multicare Base+Top Coat

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Milan

I already own four of NYX’s Soft Matte Lip Creams and I absolutely love them! They’re so soft and moussey, they’re not overly drying, and the pigmentation is ideal. I would love to own the entire line. Milan is your standard medium pink.

Revlon Nail Care Multi Care Base + Top Coat

I bought this to replace my Sally Hansen Base + Top Coat because I am seriously not enjoying that. After purchasing this Revlon one, I noticed that the reviews weren’t too great and I’ve found that as a base coat it doesn’t allow my polish to apply evenly. It seems to repel my polish and create texture. #disappointing

CoverGirl Tru Naked Palette in Goldens

CoverGirl TruNaked Eye Shadow Palette in Goldens

Since I bought this, I have been trying to incorporate it into all of my eyeshadow looks, and I have to say that that is no challenge at all! I have really been enjoying this palette. The shade Cookie has been my go-to transition shade. Although Chiffon may appear patchy and overly shimmery at first, I have found this to be (when used with careful control) one of my favorites. Layered over any color base, this shade just illuminates my entire eye.

Ulta had also sent out a Platinum Perk for 20% off an entire purchase, including prestige brands, in late March. Discounts like this don’t come around often, so I knew I would be making a big purchase.April Beauty Buys Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Lipstick in Firebird Mario Badescu Complex Moisturizer with Vitamin E Drying Lotion Lorac Pro PaletteUrban Decay Gwen Stefani Lipstick in Firebird

Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Lipstick in Firebird

Since the launch of Gwen Stefani’s collection with Urban Decay, I had been eyeing this beautiful color. I don’t think I would have bought it at it’s original price, but since it was already on sale and I had the 20% discount, I added it to my cart right away!

Mario Badescu Complex Moisturizer with Vitamin E SPF 20

I have really been in need of a moisturizer with SPF so I thought I would give this one from Mario Badescu a try. I’ve been using it for about two weeks and I’m surprised to say that I don’t like it very much so far. It smells strongly of sunscreen and leaves an oily finish on my skin. Usually a little bit of oiliness from a product doesn’t bother me so much because my skin tends to be more dry, but the oil in this one is heavy. I even think it initially caused some red bumps to appear on my skin, almost like breakouts, but not exactly. They weren’t pimples, more like mosquito bites. Since that cleared up, I haven’t had any problems, but I sincerely dislike how heavy it feels on my skin.

Mario Badescu Drying Lotion

I’ve also been looking for a spot treatment and this one was recommended to me by a friend. It’s a little bit strange because the ingredients inside are meant to settle and separate and the smell is strong and unpleasant. I’ve used it on a few blemishes, but I’ll have to try it out some more to really form an opinion about it.

Lorac Pro Palette

Lorac PRO Palette

I have been lusting after this palette for months. I don’t think there’s ever going to be an offer of more than 20% off on a palette like this, so I went ahead and bit the bullet since I knew I would make it a part of my collection eventually. This is seriously so beautiful, I still haven’t touched it. That’s right, I’m a hoarder!

HSN also sent me a coupon this month for $10 off a $20 purchase. I knew I had to take advantage of it, but I didn’t know exactly what I wanted. I thought I would give myself time to think about it, meanwhile I made a wishlist. While I was still thinking about which of the following I would choose, I noticed that HSN had another deal for $25 off a $50 purchase if you used their Visa Checkout. This deal is still advertised on their website. With both offers, I realized I could buy everything on my wishlist! 😀

April Beauty Buys Too Faced Sweethearts Perfect Flush Blush in Sparkling Bellini Benefit Erase Paste in Medium beautyblender in RoyalToo Faced Sweethearts Perfect Flush Blush in Sparkling Bellini

Too Faced Sweethearts Perfect Flush Blush in Sparkling Bellini

I knew I would be buying this sooner or later if I could find it at a discounted price. I already own the three other colors so I’ve started to think of myself as a collector.

Benefit Erase Paste in Medium

Benefit Erase Paste Brightening Concealer in Medium

I’ve been interested in attempting to color-correct my undereyes for a while now, since even with concealer my eyes seem dark. Hopefully, Benefit’s Erase Paste will help me out!

beautyblender in Royal Purple

I couldn’t resist the purple beautyblender, especially for $10.

Late in the month, Ulta also had a BOGO deal on all of their Leaders masks. I seriously couldn’t pass up the opportunity to try out and stock up on some of these pricey puppies!

Leaders Masks

I chose to try out the Amazonian Açaí Anti-Pollution Mask, the Mediterranean Olive Brightening Mask, the Caribbean Coconut Calming Mask, the Kalahari Melon Moisturizing Mask, and two from their less expensive line, What Happened Last Night? and Pore Gone for Good.

I also picked up the Ulta Skinnovation Kit and the Ulta A Three-Step Makeover Kit.

Lastly, because Urban Decay will be revamping their lipstick lines and all of these were on sale for $11, I bought four lipsticks, three at Ulta and one off of Belk.com.

Makeup Revolution Lipsticks in Naked, Rush, and Native

Although I’m usually more likely to buy a bold lip color, I thought I would add a few more neutrals to my collection instead. Naked, Rush, and Native are totally stunning! I’m now thinking I should’ve gotten my hands on even more of these, but after all of the month’s purchases, my budget wouldn’t stand for it! lol

Makeup Matte Revolution Lipstick in Bittersweet 

I couldn’t let all of these sell out without getting my hands on at least one matte lipstick, so I ordered Bittersweet offline. I haven’t tried it yet but I think I’m gonna love it.


Next month I seriously want to focus on shopping my stash and making use of all of the delicious products I’ve bought these last two months. I’m going to allow myself three purchases max: one from Birchbox, one from Target, and one unforeseen purchase. Wish me luck! Here’s hoping next month’s post is short and sweet!

13 thoughts on “Monthly Beauty Buys | April 2016

  1. Pingback: Monthly Beauty Buys | May 2016 | thesleepingcutie

Leave a Reply

