Empties

Empties #3

Here we go with my third empties post! It’s belated, but it’s here! I’ve finally had the battery on my Macbook Pro replaced, but, man, it took a little bit of patience and $200!! I had to make two trips to the Apple Store, only to be told my laptop couldn’t be serviced because I’ve had it for more than five years. I then had to find a third party to replace it for me. Luckily, they had my laptop’s type of battery in stock and I only had to wait a few minutes for it to be serviced, instead of waiting for a battery to be shipped.

But on to the topic at hand: my empties! This time around, I really don’t have too many full-sized items that I’ve used up. I’ve mostly been trying to make some headway in using up all of my subscription samples. DSC073431. Bare Republic Mineral Tinted Face Sunscreen SPF 30

This is a sample that I received last summer in an Ipsy bag. I’ve finally used it up! Although I definitely appreciate some SPF, this is not something that I am interested in purchasing the full size of as the formula was very watery.

2. Avène Hydrance Optimale Hydrating Serum

This milky serum I received in December’s Birchbox. I did like it, but I don’t think there was enough product in the sample for me to form a definitive opinion about it.

3. Skyn Iceland Pure Cloud Cream

Skyn is a brand that definitely intrigues me! The description of this product really made me think high-end but everything from the scent to the texture of this moisturizer reminded me of Acure’s Day Cream, which I do enjoy by the way.

4. Goodal Waterest First Essence

This product was my introduction to Korean essence. I used it much like a serum, though I found this to be slightly more sticky and gelatinous than any serum I’ve used before. The scent was pleasant.

5. Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask to Clear Pores

This mask was actually recommended to me by a Sephora sales associate months ago. After seeing the price, I decided not to purchase it right then, but I was certain it would work wonders. Turns out I did myself a favor, because this is definitely not one of my favorite masks. Although many people seem to love it, I just think it might be too intense for me. It has the same texture as Acure’s Cell Stimulating Facial Mask, and it’s equally as difficult to remove with bare hands (I haven’t tried removing either one with a wash cloth so that may make a difference). I prefer cooling and refreshing wet masks and this one is neither. Maybe it was just me, but it gives me an itchy/stinging sensation when I use it. I still have another sample of this that I’m going to keep using, just in case I change my mind about it (though I don’t think I will).

6. Vine Vera Resveratrol Merlot Moisture Day Cream

These I received in March’s Glossybox and I used up both jars right away. I loved the smell and just how hydrating this cream was on my skin. Too bad it’s excessively out of my price range.DSC073447. Sephora Long-lasting Eyeliner in Black Purple

I bought this from Sephora ages ago and never really used it because I found it so difficult to line my eyes with such a watery formula. I thought I would include it here, though it’s definitely not empty.

8. Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge Set

I love this sponge!!! I will be repurchasing this without a doubt. I think I may even prefer it over the original BeautyBlender. Although it is more dense, I find the finished result is identical and this one has the benefit of the flat bottom. For many of you wondering how I know it’s time to toss this one, the pores have gotten wider and it was starting to leave residual pieces of sponge on my face when I used it.

9. Sephora Color-proof Eyeliner in Turquoise Glitter

I’m ridding myself of this liquid liner for the same reason as the other one. It is too watery to work and the color intensity is just not there. This one would also leave a blue stain behind that I found very difficult to remove!

10. Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle

I love this stuff! I love the way it smells and the way it detangles my hair so easily. It’s many purposes are also a bonus! I received a backup in my January Birchbox, so I don’t have to worry about purchasing a full-sized bottle just yet.

11. Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm

I know it’s crazy, but this was my first tube of this infamous lip balm. I found it to be very moisturizing and I loved the tingling sensation of the peppermint oil! I would repurchase if I didn’t already have a ton of lip balms on hand.DSC0734012. Beauty Without Cruelty Fragrance Free Hand and Body Lotion

I didn’t find anything too special about this lotion, except for the ethical standards of the company. It worked for me.

13. Nivea In-Shower Body Lotion

This sample is from my January Target Beauty Box. Let me just say, I don’t think it’s for me. I’m gonna stick to applying lotion the old-fashioned way.

14. Lush Mask of Magnaminty Face and Body Mask

As you know, I love this mask!!! It is my very favorite and nothing can compare. I’ve gone through another tub, and I’m gonna try to use up some of my other mask samples before I purchase another. (This is me trying to declutter a bit.)

15. Ulta Shimmer Sugar Scrub in Vanilla and Caramel

Strangely, I don’t think Ulta is selling this line of scrubs anymore. I looked on their website and nada! I actually think this scrub’s not bad, aside from the price. I love the way it smelled and the way it lathered.


So that concludes this empties post! Nothing too interesting this time around, but hopefully you enjoyed! Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Empties #3

Leave a Reply

