Empties

Empties #4

Finishing a product is one of the most satisfying feelings for a makeup/skincare lover. Seeing everything I’ve used up all together in a post like this is equally as fun. Here, I happily present my most recent empties.DSC075691. Lord & Berry Pailettes Eye Pencil

When my sister was briefly subscribed to Birchbox in 2014, I remember that she received this tiny eyeliner in one of her boxes and then promptly gave it to me. I’ve been holding on to it ever since, hoping that I would find the right occasion for it one day. Recently, that very special day arrived only for me to realize what a horrible pencil this is. Sure, it was old. That might explain why the black pigment totally disappeared by the end of the day, leaving me with sloppy silver sparkles surrounding my eyes. Somehow, though, I don’t think this pencil would have worked out had it been brand new. The time has come to toss this.

2. Benefit Some Kind-a Gorgeous Foundation in Medium

I really, really wanted to like this cream to powder foundation. Unfortunately, it was the wrong color for me, it didn’t offer any coverage, and it smelled sooo horrible. I’ve been trying to use it up these past few weeks, but I can’t do it anymore. It doesn’t do anything for me and even though I’ve still got a little less than half of this left, I am done.

3. Jane Iredale Smooth Affair Facial Primer & Brightener

I received this in an Allure Sample Society Box last year, or maybe my sister did. I can’t remember, but I figured it was about time to finish this off. I liked it. It smells like citrus, it’s lightweight and it’s brightening. I won’t be buying this however, because I have so many primers already that I would like to use up.

4. Dr. Jart+ Premium Beauty Balm SPF 45 in Light/Medium

I love beauty balms and I really think this Korean one is a quality one. I love getting skincare benefits, sun protection, and coverage all in one product. I found this shade to be a little grey-toned and I did notice some product collecting in the creases of my face every once in a while, but overall this is still something that I would purchase myself.

5. It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream with SPF 50+ in Medium

This is also a CC cream that I enjoyed using, though this shade was too dark for my skin tone. I thought this one really blended into and perfected my skin.

6. GLAMGLOW THIRSTYCLEANSE Daily Hydrating Cleanser

I’ve mentioned this cleanser on my blog before HERE and HERE, so I’ll keep this short and just say that it is not my favorite because of the rough texture of the formula.

7. Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circle Treatment Concealer in Light

I love this concealer! I bought this last August, so it lasted me almost a whole year. It doesn’t offer as much coverage as I need, but I still like what it does for me. The formula is creamy and I love the applicator. I’ve already bought a replacement, but this time it is in the shade Neutralizer, very much lighter than the shade Light.

8. Dr. Brandt PoreDermabrasion Pore Perfecting Exfoliator

Even though I’ve received many samples of this, this is the first one that I’ve gone through. I was pretty consistent in it’s use, pretty much using it weekly, particularly on those mornings that I would wake up startled because I fell asleep unexpectedly with my makeup still on. I think it did go a long way towards preventing blemishes and improving the texture of my skin, though I can’t say what it did for my pores.

9. Air Repair Complexion Boosting Moisturizer

This is a simple moisturizer: handy, but nothing remarkable.

10. Nourish Organic Pure Hydrating Argan Face Serum

I know that the name and the ingredients should have tipped me off to the characteristics of this product, but for some reason, when I squeezed this out into my hand, I was totally surprised that all that came out was an oil! This is 100% a face oil, but the word “serum” in the name totally misled me. I suppose an oil could be a serum, but it wasn’t what I was expecting. I like this brand though, and this face oil did a good job at keeping my face moisturized.

11. Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm SPF 25

I really loved this lip balm and I definitely appreciate the SPF.

12. Dr. Lipp Miracle Balm

This was a godsend for my lips after the peeling and chapping that seemed to be aggravated by the EOS lip balm I used last. I might actually purchase the full-size and even order one for my sister. It’s sticky, but I usually stuck to using it before going to sleep and that worked for me.

13. Foreo Luna Play

This should technically not be here anymore, because moments after taking these photographs, literally as I was walking to throw it away, I was clicking the power button absentmindedly and the darn thing turned on! I must have clicked a hundred times before to no avail, but it suddenly turned on just in time to save itself from being unjustly tossed out.DSC07578

14. Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask

I love this mask. It makes a significant difference in the feel of my hair and I love the way it smells. I would definitely consider buying the full-size, even though 8oz sells for $36. I’m sure I can find a way to buy it at a discount.

15. -417 Foot Nourishing Cream

My feet are often neglected, and this foot cream gave them the care they deserve. I enjoyed using it and my feet were grateful.

16. Pixi Glow Tonic

At first I wasn’t so crazy about this exfoliating toner, but after regular use for at least six months, the quality of my skin really testifies to the effectiveness of this product. In an effort to form a more comprehensive opinion though, I’m going to go a while before repurchasing just to make sure it is this and not something else that I’m using that has improved my skin. It’ll be a sort of test. So far, I’m already missing it as part of my routine.

17. Marc Anthony Coconut Oil & Shea Butter Deep Conditioning Treatment

While I was testing this product, the majority of my hair was red. It needed a lot of love and care. Although I was hopeful, this product didn’t do as much as I needed it to. Maybe if my hair were slightly less damaged, I would have seen more of an effect, but as it stands, I wasn’t impressed and don’t plan on purchasing this item any time soon. It really doesn’t compare to the Briogeo mask previously mentioned.

18. Derma e Hydrating Night Creme

I liked this night cream but not more than the Clinique one I tried before. The smell of this one was nice and it was hydrating, but not as much as I would have liked.

19. Ole Henriksen The Clean Truth Cleansing Cloths

I bought these on Black Friday and I’ve finally used them up. Although I enjoyed the citrus scent and I thought they did a good enough job of removing my makeup (though now that I think about it these might be more for simply cleansing and not actually removing a full face of makeup), they didn’t impress me enough to merit the high-end price.

20. Simple Micellar Make-Up Remover Wipes

I did not enjoy the smell of these wipes or the residual stickiness, but I thought they removed my makeup pretty effectively.


Out of the twenty items in this post, I only personally bought three. Everything else was part of a subscription box, a gift with purchase, or an actual gift. It really goes to show how stocked up my subscriptions keep me! It feels so good using up so many items this time around. That means I can start trying out new things and making some headway using up my huge collection.

5 thoughts on “Empties #4

  1. Lovely post! And wow you only bought three yourself? That’s super impressive. I might need to get a subscription box! And I really enjoyed reading your empties, and the first deep conditioning mask you mentioned has me intrigued!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

